Kosovo police seize 300 crypto mining machines amid electricity shortages

The police in Kosovo have ramped up their efforts to crack down on crypto miners within the nation, confiscating greater than 300 mining machines on Jan. 8 alone.

An announcement issued by the Kosovo police on Jan. 8 revealed that it had seized 272 “Antminer” Bitcoin mining machines within the municipality of Leposavic, and one other 39 mining machines close to Prishtina.

The Kosovo Police confiscated 272 “Antminer” crypto mining machines in Leposavic on Jan 8. Supply: Kosovo Police

In the meantime, the police additionally stopped a driver carrying 6 crypto mining machines with 42 graphics playing cards (GPUs) close to Druar, in Vushtrri. The motive force has since been interviewed and launched.

The Minister for Financial system Artane Rizvanolli tweeted her help for the Kosovo police, writing: “Tens of 1000’s of Euros monthly of taxpayers’ cash is saved = power for a whole bunch of Kosovar households through the disaster.”

Kosovo’s power squeeze

In December, Kosovo declared a state of emergency for 60 days amid an power disaster and electrical energy shortages. Since then, the Minister of Financial system launched a blanket ban on crypto mining on Jan. 5. Kosovo at the moment imports over 40% of its power.

As beforehand reported by Cointelegraph, Bitcoin mining makes use of 101 TWh per yr or extra power than your entire nation of the Philippines. Regardless of this, miners are more and more turning in direction of renewable power sources, particularly in america which has grow to be the brand new hub for mining operations. 

In accordance to Netherlands-based information platform The Paypers, crypto mining has been on the rise in Kosovo for a while. Till very just lately, electrical energy has been free for these residing within the Serb-majority Northern municipalities because the finish of the Kosovo Warfare in 1999.

Associated: Iran pauses electrical energy exports attributable to crypto mining and sizzling summer time

On the finish of Nov 2021, Electrical energy community system operator KOSTT introduced that it’ll not provide free energy to the 4 municipalities within the nation’s North: Mitrovica North, Zvecan, Zubin Potok, and Leposavic.

The Balkan nation was a part of Serbia till 2008 when it declared independence and has upheld these subsidies since. In latest months, a number of different nations have additionally expressed issues about mining-related energy outages, together with Iran and Kazakhstan.

Leave a Comment